I’m Heading to England

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve written. Well, I now realize that it all has to do with romance. I met someone online last January, but we didn’t start ‘dating’ until the end of March. We met on another autistic woman’s Facebook page and became Facebook friends afterwards. This woman is famous in the autistic community (that sounds kind of funny for some reason, as we are somewhat divided at times). She is kind enough to facilitate others building autistic friendships. I’ve met many friends on her page, and it’s great!

So, I am serious with this guy I’ve met. I hate to say it, but his ADHD seems to dominate Asperger’s. Does that make sense? I don’t really see the autistic traits, but I see the ADHD ones, big time. I’ve gotten pretty used to that now. The only thing is, my autistic traits seems to baffle him at times. I’m “too pedantic”, “take things very literally”, etc. And more that I cannot remember at this moment. I’m enjoying my morning coffee right now.

Anyway, it is serious. I’m actually going to visit him in England for about six months. I leave mid-August. I’m so incredibly nervous. I am even so nervous about the airport that my therapist is going to write a letter, explaining that I have ASD, might shut down, have issues communicating verbally, etc.

But I am also very excited! I’ve always wanted to go to England! I cannot wait to be in the arms of the one I love. This is going to be an adventure of a lifetime.

I will work on writing more often now! I hope you all are doing well. I look forward to catching up.

4 comments

  1. That’s so exciting! Visiting England and the man you have been romantically involved with. As an Aspie myself I can understand the struggles of traveling and how exhausting it can be, but enjoy it and embrace this new change. I wish you the best and hope you have the time of your life.

    I met my now husband originally online. He only lived like an 8 hour drive away so we met in person within the first couple months of talking. I was very nervous meeting for the first time, but it actually ended up being natural. It didn’t feel awkward at anytime really, and it made us a lot closer. He was originally suppose to only visit me in Canada for a couple weeks, but ended up living with me for a year and a half. When we relocated to the USA we got married and things are going great. So you just never know what can happen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

