Most of All, Accept That I Am Autistic

Here is an article I submitted to The Mighty:

It is almost Autism Awareness/Acceptance Month, and I wish to focus on the acceptance aspect of it all. It has been about a year since I received the blessing of a late diagnosis of ASD. I wish to be accepted for all of what I learned it means to be autistic. That means different things for everyone on the spectrum. What does that mean for me?

I wish to be accepted for my difficulty when it comes to making eye contact. Please know that I am listening carefully when you speak–possibly more carefully than anyone you know. I wish to be accepted for having big emotions, even though you may think I don’t have any at all. And along with that, I wish for it to be understood that I sometimes have severe difficulty regulating them. In fact, I used to engage in self-harm, but now I stim.

I hope that you understand that while I have great empathy (I am vegan for the animals, after all), I sometimes struggle with theory-of-mind. This makes it difficult for me to know where you are ‘coming from’ exactly. I hope you know that I am still capable of love; very much so.

Please accept that I personally know a heck of a lot about a little. I have restricted interests and would love to talk with you for hours about them. I will also try my best to be interested in what your passions happen to be!

Most of all, accept that I am autistic. Don’t assume I am neurotypical because I appear ‘normal’, hold a job, have an apartment, etc. I work very hard for these things and am very conscious of the efforts I put forth to achieve what many neurotypicals may take for granted. Embrace the fact that I am different, and be embraced for your differences, too.

3 comments

  1. Perpetually Autistic, your blog is currently included on our Actually Autistic Blogs List (anautismobserver.wordpress.com). Please click on the “How do you want your blog listed?” link at the top of that site to personalize your blog’s description.
    Thank you.
    Judy (An Autism Observer)

    Like

Leave a Reply

